Sometimes I get the itch to head out and find a new city to live in, just because being in one place for more than a decade gets a bit old. One of the things I always take into consideration is how I’d deal with the paperwork that needs to get done when relocating from a different state. The process isn’t much different in the Bluegrass State than it is in California, but there are a few things that you’ll need to do before you’re ready to drive. Here are a few Kentucky driving requirements as a new resident:
Watch Your Time
According to the Kentucky DMV: “Once you move to Kentucky, you have 15 days to register your vehicle with the KY Transportation Cabinet. If you fail to register your car in the state during this time, you risk receiving a fine.” Ouch! Better to put off unpacking your garage just yet, and instead head down to get registered instead!
Make Sure Your Car Is Insured
Before you can register your vehicle, you’ll need to make sure it’s insured in the state of Kentucky. My best advice would be to see how far in advance you can get your Insurance before physically moving.
Get Your License Transferred
You have a bit more leeway with getting your license squared away. You have 30 days from becoming a resident to complete the transfer and receive your Kentucky license. If your old license is expired, you will need to pass the written and road tests at the KY DMV Office.
Once you’re officially a resident, don’t forget to update your voter registration and organ donor card, too. Of course, if you get here and you need a new car, Hyundai of Nicholasville has an outstanding selection of new and used vehicles they’d be happy to show you! And why not? You’ve made the move and are starting fresh, a new car seems like just the thing!